The update milkshake

This is going to be a short little post as I’ve spent a shamefully low number of hours outside of the house in the past few days and as a result have no pictures to share!

After a bit of a tumultuous time and a few emotional breakdowns, I’m happy to report that
a) I’m back to being my usual cheery self, and
b) I have some good news on the bureaucratic front!

No – I don’t have my job back, and I still don’t know if I’ll end up getting it back at all. However, after a string of never-ending phone calls to the immigration office and the institution in charge of approving work permits (and with a lot of help from my personal hero and defendant, Pieter), I have managed to convince the job agency hag worker to just SUBMIT my application already! I realize this hardly sounds like a victory, but given her shocking reluctance to do just that, I’m willing to take what I can get. And now I can finally feel at peace, because I have done everything within my power to fix my problem.

The bright side to this little nightmare is that I have nothing but time to work on my thesis! Sounds fun? No?

I’m not complaining, though. Because of all of my free time, I got to take a little trip up North to see my wonderful friends last week. We had the intention of ‘working’ together, but – shockingly – that didn’t really happen. Instead, I laughed and relaxed and cheated a teeny little bit on my diet, and now I feel about 100 times better.

This milkshake should make you feel 100 times better, too.
I do have to confess that I am by no means the genius behind the idea of freezing banana to replace ice cream. About a week ago, Pieter’s house received some promotional fast food flyers in the mail, including coupons for McDonald’s milkshakes. Usually even the smell of McDonald’s cannot move me, but I guess being on a diet really heightens your awareness of delicious things that you can’t eat! I decided right then and there that I would have a milkshake, and a quick scour of the internet really delivered.

Here it is: the peanut butter-chocolate milkshake.
(But you could make it in any number of different flavours.)

P1000886

There isn’t really any way to make this look beautiful, so you’ll have to take my word for it: it tastes incredible!

What you’ll need:
1-2 bananas, sliced and frozen (it takes between 4 and 5 hours to get them to the right consistency, so you do have to exercise some patience … the more frozen, the better)
1/2-3/4 cup milk (or any substitute you like)
1 tbsp peanut butter
1-2 tsp honey or other sweetener
1 tbsp cocoa powder
and, if you have them/if your blender can handle them (mine sadly cannot), a handful of ice cubes

P1000878

And all you need to do is blend and, if possible, enjoy through a colourful straw.

P1000888

In hindsight, using my wooden table as a backdrop may not have been the finest artistic call I’ve ever made … I’m seriously considering naming this post ‘Fifty shades of brown’, but I’ll do my best to resist the urge.
Now, back to my milkshake and back to work!

2 thoughts on “The update milkshake

Leave a Reply

