A week in food

I don’t even know if I should give you my excuses for my terrible updating record! It’s always the same thing … blah blah blah thesis. I do have exciting news in that department though: as of tomorrow at 1.00 PM, it will be out of my hands. Done. Come what may. I can’t wait! I still have quite a bit of proof-reading and tweaking to do today but I thought I’d start off this Sunday morning in a leisurely way, with pictures of food.
My beautiful friend Stephanie came to visit for a few days, and I think it’s safe to say we ate our way through the country – or at least the better part of the Randstad.

Amsterdam

Steph has a Lonely Planet app on her phone, and it highly recommends Jordino. It’s a gorgeous chocolate shop on the outskirts of the Jordaan, with candy shaped into every imaginable form: heels, cars, iPads, herring …

P1010245

We each chose two little chocolates to whet our appetites for lunch. I had a candied ginger concoction that I’m still dreaming of five days later …

P1010248

P1010246

After a great sandwich at Small World Catering (why I didn’t take pictures of that place is beyond me), we did some exploring and a bit of shopping before seeking out our next food stop: the Kaaskamer (cheese room). It way heavenly! We left with a big hunk of truffled cheese and a small portion of aged Gouda. Fortunately I still have some of each to tide me over through the mood swings I’ve experienced during the last legs of my thesis journey …

P1010260

Sadly it started pouring in Amsterdam in the late afternoon, so we headed back to Leiden for dinner: take-out from Ichi Ban. Delightful as always.

Leiden

We spent the next morning in Leiden, admiring the sights and sampling the entire market. Steph picked out a few tins of stroopwafels for friends and family, and then we shared a giant cookie between the two of us. The man at the stand was extremely friendly, and even agreed to my shy request (in Dutch I might add) to take a picture of us.

P1010264

Courtesy of Steph's instagram.

Courtesy of Steph’s instagram.

Having devoured more than our fair share of meaty green olives, bread and tapenade from one of the stands, we decided on a light lunch …

P1010266

Den Haag

Next, we headed off to the Hague to do some sight seeing and some shopping. I’d venture to say that, after Groningen, the Hague is my favourite city, and I did my darndest to make sure Steph liked it too! I think dinner really sold her. We scoured out a table on the Plein, a big square in the city shared by six or seven different food and drink establishments. After an apero (including deep fried cheese sticks) at Barlow, we scooched over to the neighbours, Millers, for truly outstanding food.

P1010268

Tuna sashimi with soya sauce, seaweed, lightly pickled ginger and wasabi. My goodness that tuna may have been the best I’ve ever had, even without all of the extras. It was so fresh and meaty! As a ‘pescatarian’ (vegetarian who eats fish), I rarely get meat cravings, but if I were ever to want to devour a whole steak, this is the dish I’d turn to.

P1010269

We also shared a Caesar salad, but I mysteriously have no pictures of it.

P1010270

The main attraction: truffle risotto with baked truffle chips, cherry tomatoes, parmesan and arugula. There are no words. I’m not even usually a risotto person but this had me closing my eyes with every bite! I foresee a do-over of this entire meal in the near future …

That night we were totally pooped, so we went home fairly early and (re-)watched Pitch Perfect. The best way to end an excellent day.

Scheveningen

To cap off Steph’s stay, we breakfasted at Bagels & Beans before heading off to the beach in Scheveningen. It looked rather different than the last time I posted about it.

(Courtesy of Steph's instagram.)

(Courtesy of Steph’s instagram.)

The sun was out in full force and we spent a delightfully lazy afternoon basking in its glory. Starting to feel peckish, we returned to the Plein for more delicious food and drinks. (Sadly this time I hadn’t brought my camera, so I have only my memories to treasure!)

Steph left the next morning … and I’m leaving Tuesday! I’ll be back in Canada for two weeks and I cannot cannot CANNOT wait. Aside from the truffle cheese whispering my name from the fridge, the thought of being back home after seven months is keeping me sane in these last hours!

2 thoughts on “A week in food

Leave a Reply

